10,551.70121.65
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Gamers, save the date: Sony plans a global launch of PlayStation 5 next week

The first-ever online event will unveil new games along with the PS5 console.

ET Online and Agencies|
Last Updated: May 30, 2020, 11.30 AM IST
0Comments
Agencies
Sony invites all the gamers to have a look at the future of gaming on PlayStation 5.
Sony invites all the gamers to have a look at the future of gaming on PlayStation 5.
NEW DELHI: Japanese conglomerate Sony on Friday revealed that its much-awaited PlayStation 5 (PS5) will be unveiled at an online event on June 4 at 1pm, PST (June 5, 1:30 am, IST).

The tech company took to Twitter to announce the date of the live event.


The launch will be live on Twitch or YouTube's official channel on June 4 at 1pm PDT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST, and 1:30am IST on June 5.

In a statement on PlayStation's blog, Jim Ryan, President & CEO of Sony Interactive Entertainment, called this online launch a bit different. The event is designed to both announce new games and show gameplay from the new PS5 console.

Ryan said that the event will also share a glimpse of the games that will launch this holiday for PS5. He also confirmed that the first-ever digital showcase will run for a bit more than an hour.

Sony has so far unveiled a logo for the console, the PS5 gamepad, a tech demo showing the console's graphics capability, technical specifications and the new DualSense wireless controller.

The PS5 will feature a custom eight-core AMD Zen 2 CPU clocked at 3.5GHz and a custom GPU based on AMD's RDNA 2 architecture hardware that promises 10.28 teraflops and 36 compute units clocked at 2.23GHz.

It will also have 16GB of GDDR6 RAM and a custom 825GB SSD.

The PS5 will also feature 4K Blu-ray drive and will still support discs, but those games will still require installation to the internal SSD.


Also Read

Sony renews WWE rights in India for 5 years

Sony India starts advanced booking for home audio-video products

Sony Pictures Networks India ropes in 8 sponsors for England-West Indies test series

Daily soaps return to TV; Star, Sony and ZEE to start airing fresh content from July 13

Sony WH-CH710N review: The best of both bass and treble experience all day long

Designer Ashish Soni urges men to play with colour, experiment more

Comments
Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.

Popular Categories


Other useful Links


Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service