Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Delhi Elections Result 2020: AAP set for a resounding win

As much as 62.59 per cent voter turnout, out of over 1.4 crore eligible voters, was recorded in Delhi on February 8, when the elections were held in a single-phase in the national capital.

ET Online|
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2020, 10.36 PM IST
Delhi Polls
Initial trends show ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) claiming an early lead.
Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday retained power with a stunning victory, winning 62 of the 70 assembly seats and leaving the BJP with just eight seats.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led party had bagged 67 seats in 2015.

Congress drew a blank for the second successive assembly elections in a city it had ruled for three consecutive terms under Sheila Dikshit.

As per the Election Commission website, the AAP won in 62 constituencies with a voting percentage of 53.57, while the BJP got eight seats with vote share of 38.51 per cent.

Kejriwal won the New Delhi seat, while Deputy CM Manish Sisodia was declared the winner in Patparganj.

Making their Assembly poll debut, AAP's Atishi and Raghav Chadha were declared winner from Kalkaji and Rajinder Nagar constituencies respectively.

Meanwhile, BJP's Vijender Gupta registered a win in Rohini constituency, while OP Sharma won the Vishwas Nagar seat.

AAP's incumbent MLA Rajesh Rishi swept Janakpuri, BJP's bastion of 20 years.

The Delhi Assembly elections held on February 8, saw a high-voltage campaign between the ruling AAP and the BJP, while the Congress ended up as inconsequential participant.

The elections in the national capital took place in the midst of massive protests in the city and elsewhere over the new citizenship law, the National Register of Citizens and the National Population Register.

Also Read

TMC endorses AAP in Delhi polls

Delhi election: Stakes higher, AAP 3 can’t take same course as AAP 2

AAP candidates have Crowdfunded their way to power

In Delhi, AAP fights for its future

AAP MLAs choose Kejriwal as leader of legislature party

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service