Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Odisha Election Results: BJD sweeps Assembly polls, Naveen Patnaik set to become CM for fifth term

Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal won all the six Lok Sabha seats in 2014.

ET Online and Agencies|
Updated: May 23, 2019, 11.33 PM IST
Will Naveen Patnaik and the Modi wave in the cyclone-prone state?
Naveen Patnaik has continued his vice-like grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, leading in 110 seats in the 147-member House and himself set to become the chief minister for the fifth consecutive term.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has overtaken Congress as the main opposition party, is ahead on 23 seats. Congress is leading in 10 seats.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, BJD had secured 117 seats while BJP bagged 10 seats. Congress won 16 seats in the state.

Patnaik became Chief Minister of Odisha in 1997. From then on he never lost in the five Assembly elections held in the state.

In the Lok Sabha elections, which were held simultaneously with the Assembly polls, BJD is leading in 14 Lok Sabha constituencies out of 21 while BJP is ahead on 7 seats.

Here are the latest updates:
*Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday expressed his "deep gratitude" to the voters for "showering their blessings" once again on the party.

*Congratulations to Naveen Babu for yet another victory in Odisha. Wishing him the very best for the next term, tweets PM Modi

*According to the official trends, BJD is leading on 113 out of a total of 146 seats in the assembly elections. In the Lok Sabha polls, the party is leading on 13 out of a total of 21 seats.

*BJD candidate Pramila Bisoi registers thumping win from Aska Lok Sabha seat

*BJD President and CM Naveen Patnaik wins from Hinjili Assembly constituency

*BJP captures Bhawanipatna Assembly seat

* Cuttack-Sadar Assembly seat goes to BJD

*BJP’s Madan Mohan Dutt defeats BJD’s Jeevan Pradip Das in Balasore Assembly seat

*BJD candidate Pranab Prakash Das wins from Jajpur Assembly seat

*BJD candidate Sadashiv Pradhani defeats BJP's Gouri Majhi by 7,079 votes in Nabarangpur

Also Read

Odisha bolts ahead in lightning stakes

Monsoon likely to delay in Odisha

Green nod likely for JSW project in Odisha

Odisha Chief Secretary to become State Election Commissioner

Odisha undecided over National Register of Citizens for Kendrapara

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times News App for Quarterly Results, Latest News in ITR, Business, Share Market, Live Sensex News & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service