The Economic Times
English EditionEnglish Editionहिन्दी
| E-Paper

    Begusarai Election Results: BJP's Giriraj Singh trounces Kanhaiya Kumar by over 4 lakh votes


    Big names contesting: Kanhaiya Kumar (CPI), Giriraj Singh (BJP), Mohammad Tanweer Hassan (RJD)

    Union minister and firebrand BJP leader Giriraj Singh retained the Begusarai seat for his party, trouncing his nearest rival Kanhaiya Kumar of the CPI by a staggering margin of over four lakh votes.

    Singh, who had moved to Begusarai from Nawada, after initial reluctance over having to give up his sitting seat, got 6.88 lakh votes out of a total of 12.17 lakhs polled on April 29.

    Kanhaiya Kumar, who first shot to fame after being booked in a sedition case while he was the president of the JNU students union, polled 2.68 lakh votes.

    RJDs Tanveer Hassan, who was the runner-up in 2014, stood third with just 1.97 lakh votes.

    The seat was won by BJP's Bhola Singh five years ago who died last year.

    Notably, 20,408 voters in the constituency opted for NOTA.
    (Catch all the Business News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on The Economic Times.)

    Download The Economic Times News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.

    4 Comments on this Story

    Patriot Indian602 days ago
    Delighted to learn that Tukde-Tukde gang leader, Kanhaiya lost the election.
    Thanks Begusarai for rejecting this scum.
    Kanhaiya's father603 days ago
    I''m elated to see that the cuticles of this country know how to deal with a thankless cockroach who should be sent to Pakistan at the first chance we get.
    Amulya Raina603 days ago
    Ab bhi bharat k khilaaf na are lagao.. Janta ukhaad fainkegi.. Sahi mudde uthana alag baat hai aur desh k paise par padhna aur usi ko gaali Dena.. Unacceptable
    The Economic Times