Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Diamond Harbour election result: Mamata's nephew Abhishek Banerjee retains seat despite tough competition

Big names contesting: Abhishek Banerjee (Trinamool), Nilanjan Roy (BJP), Dr Fuad Halim (CPM) and Soumya Aich Roy (Congress)

ET Online|
Updated: May 23, 2019, 06.16 PM IST
Abhishek Banerjee (TMC) leads by 2,53,000 votes from Diamond Harbour after Round 7

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's nephew and incumbent MP Abhishek Banerjee has retained his position here despite the tough challenge posed by BJP candidate Nilanjan Roy.

In 2014, Banerjee won the seat with a margin of over 71,000 vote and a vote share of 41 per cent. The then CPI-M candidate Abul Hasnat had secured nearly 35 per cent votes while the BJP nominee Abhijit Das got around 16 per cent of the popular mandate. The Congress came fourth. What may have worked for Banerjee is the 36 per cent Muslim electorate in his constituency, whose votes were expected to consolidate in favour of Trinamool.

Also Read

KoPT to set up Diamond Harbour port

Cargo handling jetties coming up at Diamond Harbour

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times News App for Quarterly Results, Latest News in ITR, Business, Share Market, Live Sensex News & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service