Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Election Results Winners & Losers: Shocking defeat of Rahul Gandhi & former PM and CMs

Track updates on who's leading and who's trailing in key constituencies.

ET Online|
Updated: May 24, 2019, 11.47 AM IST
The counting of votes for the 17th Lok Sabha is underway for 542 seats.
In the face of a massive wave in favour of the BJP sweeping the country, there were many surprise losers and winners in the Lok Sabha elections. Many political families including the Nehru-Gandhi family and former Prime Minister and Chief Ministers lost their forts, while some like Congress Shashi Tharoor managed to hold the massive saffron surge across the country.

Turning a giant killer for BJP in Congress bastion Amethi, BJP candidate Smriti Irani defeated Congress President Rahul Gandhi by a margin of 55,120 votes in Uttar Pradesh.

We take a look at all the big winners and losers declared so far:

* BJP's Smriti Irani in Amethi, UP

* BJP's Amit Shah in Gandhinagar, Gujarat

*BJP's Narendra Modi in Varanasi, UP

*BJP's Pragya Thakur defeats former Madhya Pradesh CM Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal

*Congress' Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

*BJP's Rajnath Singh in Lucknow, UP

*BJP's Nitin Gadkari in Nagpur, Maharashtra

*BJP's Tejasvi Surya in Bangalore South, Karnataka

*Independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh beats Karnataka CM Kumaraswmy's son in Mandya.

*BJP's Babul Supriyo in Asansol, West Bengal

*BJP’s Pradan Baruah in Lakhimpur, Assam

*BJP's Anant Kumar Hegde in Uttara Kannada, Karnataka

*NC's Farooq Abdullah in Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir

*Congress' Uttam Kumar Reddy in Nalgonda, Telangana

*DMK's Dayanidhi Maran in Chennai-Central, Tamil Nadu

*SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal in Bathinda, Punjab

*Congress' Sonia Gandhi in Rae Bareli, UP

*Congress' Dean Kuriakose in Idukki, Kerala

*BJP's Ravi Kishan in Gorakhpur, UP

*Congress' Manish Tewari in Anandpur Sahib, Punjab

*SAD's Sukhbir Singh Badal in Firozpur, Punjab

*DMK's Tamizhachi Thangapandian in Chennai-South, Tamil Nadu

*BJP's Ravishankar Prasad in Patna Sahib, Bihar

*JDS' Prajwal Revanna in Hassan, Karnataka

*AIMIM's Asaduddin Owaisi in Hyderabad, Telangana

*BJP's Varun Gandhi in Pilibhit, UP

*Congress' Nakul Kamal Nath in Chhindwara, MP

*TMC's Mimi Chakraborty in Jadavpur, West Bengal

*BJP's Sunny Deol in Gurdaspur, Punjab

*NCP's Supriya Sule in Baramati, Maharashtra

*Congress' VK Sreekandan in Palakkad, Kerala


* Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, UP

*Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda (JDS) in Tumkur, Karnataka

* Former Maharashtra CM and Congress' Sushilkumar Shinde in Solapur, Maharashtra

*Former J&K CM and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti in Anantnag, Jammu and Kashmir

*Congress' Jyotiraditya Scindia in Guna, Madhya Pradesh

* Congress' former Delhi CM Shiela Dikshit in North-East Delhi

* Former Madhya Pradesh CM Digvijaya Singh (Congress) in Bhopal

*Former BJP minister and Congress' candidate Shatrughan Sinha in Patna Sahib, Bihar

*VBA's Prakash Ambedkar in Solapur, Maharashtra

*Shiv Sena's Anant Geete in Raigad, Maharashtra

*JDS' Nikhil Kumaraswamy in Mandya, Karnataka

*TMC's Moon Moon Sen in Asansol, West Bengal

*TRS' K Kavitha in Nizamabad, Telangana

*Jan Sena Party's Pawan Kalyan in Bhimavaram, Andhra Pradesh

*Jan Sena Party's Pawan Kalyan in Gajuwaka, Andhra Pradesh

*BJP's Suresh Gopi in Thrissur, Kerala

*VBA's Prakash Ambedkar in Akola, Maharashtra

*Congress' Milind Deora in Mumbai South

*BJP's Tamilisai Soundarajan in Thoothukudi

Also Read

BSP sees no need to introspect over election results

Jewellers, traders stock gold ahead of election results

Sebi, bourses step up surveillance for election result

Election results: Just half the battle won

Investment strategies for 3 different election result scenarios

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times News App for Quarterly Results, Latest News in ITR, Business, Share Market, Live Sensex News & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service