Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

New Delhi Election Results: Meenakshi Lekhi extends lead by 1.98 lakh votes

Big names contesting: Meenakshi Lekhi(BJP), Ajay Maken (Congress)

ET Online|
Updated: May 23, 2019, 06.06 PM IST
  • Incumbent MP from New Delhi Meenakshi Lekhi was also ahead of Congress' Ajay Maken by a margin of over 1.98 lakh votes.
Meenakshi Lekhi is leading this most politically significant constituencies among the 7 in Delhi. An SC lawyer and the BJP’s national spokesperson, she took on Congress’ Ajay Maken and AAP’s Brijesh Goyal.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Lekhi beat Ashish Khetan of AAP by a decent margin. In 2009, former Congress minister Ajay Maken defeated BJP's Vijay Goel and BSP's Trilok Chand Sharma. Lekhi seems to have prevailed over the perception that sealing would impact her chances from this seat.

Also Read

Quit plastic bottles and glasses, drink water from cupped hands: Meenakshi Lekhi

Imprison or censure Rahul Gandhi, Meenakshi Lekhi tells SC

Meenakshi Lekhi files contempt plea in SC against Rahul Gandhi

Only actresses with TMC ticket don't represent women in politics: Meenakshi Lekhi

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service