Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Puri election result: Sambit Patra loses a close fight with Pinaki Mishra

Big names contesting: Sambit Patra (BJP), Pinaki Misra (BJD)

ET Online|
Updated: May 24, 2019, 11.05 AM IST
Pinaki Mishra won with over a margin of 11,700 votes.
Pinaki Misra wins the Puri seat against Sambit Patra by a margin of 11,700 votes

Sambit Patra lost in the close fight against sitting BJD MP Pinaki Mishra. It's a close watch considering in 2009 and 2014, Mishra won convincingly without much of a fight. Historically, Puri has been kind to BJD with the party winning at a stretch from 1998. In 1996, Mishra had won on a Congress ticket.

The Puri seat saw a voter turnout of 74.01 per cent in the 2014 parliamentary polls while in 2009, the constituency registered 68.85 per cent turnout during polling.

Also Read

ITC appoints managing director Sanjiv Puri as chairman

ITC MD Sanjiv Puri may be named Chairman

​Shadow lender crisis averted, says Aditya Puri

Want to be voice of Amritsar at Centre: Hardeep Puri

India to become 5 trillion dollar economy by 2024: Hardeep Singh Puri

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for Live Elections News & Results, Latest News in Business, Share Market & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service