Have you read these stories?

Gujarat is with BJP’s agenda of development: Modi

State Election Commission will be announcing the results of Gujarat municipality and panchayat elections today.
The Economic Times
English EditionEnglish Editionहिन्दी
| 02 March, 2021, 06:43 PM IST | E-Paper


    BJP plans gala show during Amit Shah's visit to Karnataka to prepare party for panchayat elections, bypolls

    The senior BJP leader is expected to attend official as well as party events in the state. The BJP is working on the details of his tour programme, said party members.

    Over 51.5% votes polled in 6th phase of J-K DDC polls

    The polling started at 7 am and ended at 2 pm peacefully across the Union Territory, wi...

    BSY’s move to set up Maratha board lands him in trouble

    Announcement is being seen as the BJP's ploy to win over Maratha voters ahead of bypo...

    • The Congress managed to win only Hunasuru and Shivajinagar seats, while independent candidate Sharath Bachegowda, who was earlier expelled from the BJP for anti-party activities after he contested the bypoll as a rebel, won in Hoskote.

      "I will not speak anything about the bypoll results now. You will get to know on December 9. We will win with a lead of 25,000-30,000 votes in most of the constituencies and according to our estimate, we are confident of winning all the 15 seats," Karnataka CM Yediyurappa told reporters. He further added that people have voted for the party with this in mind.

      Several senior Congress leaders had taken a backseat in campaigning, giving an impression that the party’s victory or loss would be the sole responsibility of the former CM. But with speculations of the coming together of the former allies once again, hopes have sprouted among some leaders of giving a shot at the CM’s post in the event the BJP was reduced to a minority.

      The anger of the former CM is unsurprising, considering that the resignation of these legislators led to the fall of the JD(S)- Congress coalition government, headed by him. K Gopalaiah, the BJP candidate in Mahalakshmi Layout in Bengaluru, was elected on a JD(S) ticket from here in last year’s Assembly polls.

      In at least five constituencies, aspiring candidates — most of whom lost the previous Assembly elections — have rebelled or expressed disappointment. The BJP has fielded 13 disqualified legislators in the 15 Assembly segments. It has to win at least eight seats for the government to survive.

      The party sources say that the central leadership and the RSS is not keen to field R Roshan Baig and R Shankar due to various factors. The reason behind the BJP preventing Baig from joining the party is said to be his alleged role in the multi crore IMA financial scam and his name linked to the death of RSS workers in Bengaluru.

      The court upheld the Speaker's disqualification, but clarified that it will be till their re-election and not till the end of the term of the House as he had ruled. If elected in bypolls, these disqualified Karnataka MLAs can become ministers or hold public office. "We do not appreciate the manner in which the petitioners came to the court," the judge remarked.

      The 14 MLAs who quit from Congress and the three from the Janata Dal (Secular) last July, leading to the fall of the JD(S)-Congress government, may have reasons other than pure disagreement and/or disenchantment with the way their own parties were going about governing and such things. Now, it’s for the bypolls on December 5, to decide the fate of the 17.

      Hailing the top court order, BJP state president Nalin Kumar Kateel said already the election date has been announced and the party would convene a meeting to discuss the future course of action.

      The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the disqualification of 17 Karna...

      Disgruntled BJP leaders say that they have nurtured their respective constituencies for long, but the BJP is now planning to reward the disqualified lawmakers with party tickets should the court verdict go in their favour. The Supreme Court will pronounce its verdict on the 17 disqualified MLAs on Wednesday.

      Senior Advocate Mukul Rohatgi, appearing for the disqualified MLAs, mentioned the matter and said that the bypolls for the Assembly seats are scheduled on December 5 and candidates are required to file their nomination papers between November 11 and November 18.

    Load More...
    The Economic Times